Get your New York State Real Estate Licensing Classes from the only Real Estate Association run School of Real Estate in Manhattan, Bronx, Westchester, Putnam, Rockland and Orange Counties in New York, the HGEDU School of Real Estate. Whether you need to earn your New York real estate license for the first time, or obtain a broker’s license, HGAR School of Real Estate has convenient in-person and online licensing classes built for you.
New York State Requirements for Licensing as a Salesperson
At least 18 years old
No felony or misdemeanor convictions* (contact NY DOS for clarification)
US Citizen or Permanent Resident
Be sponsored by a NYS licensed Real Estate Broker
Successfully completed 75 Salesperson Licensing Course – completion includes passing the final exam at the end of the course.
Have a current NYS photo driver’s license or non-driver ID card
In-person Attendance Requirements
The Department of State requires 90 percent attendance before you are eligible to sit for the course exam. Please reconsider taking the course if you anticipate more than 7.5 hours absence. Students missing more than 7.5 hours of classroom time in total (including late arrivals and early departures) must make up the exact classes missed before they may sit for the final exam.
Click Here for In-person HGAR School of Real Estate Licensing Classes
Students are given 6 months to complete the course. 30 day paid extensions may be given if needed, but the student must complete the course, including the exam within one year from the original registration date.
Pass all unit quizzes and practice exam.
The final exam is an In-person, proctored exam. (locations listed below.)
Please bring your laptop to take the exam.
Proctored Exam Locations
HGAR White Plains - One Maple Ave, White Plains, NY 10605
HGAR Goshen - 9 Coates Drive, Suite 1, Goshen, NY 10924
To Schedule an appointment to take your final exam
Click Here for HGAR Online Real Estate Licensing Classes
New York State Requirements for Licensing as a Broker
To qualify as a real estate broker, an applicant must have at least two years of experience as a licensed real estate salesperson or at least three years of experience in the general real estate field or a combination of the both, meet the minimum points required for the experience type, (e.g., buying and selling your own property, managing property owned by your employer), have satisfactorily completed both the qualifying salesperson course of 75 hours and an additional 45-hour real estate broker course as approved by the Secretary of State, and have passed a qualifying examination administered by the Department of State. If your sales person class was a 45-hour course, you will need to complete the 30-hour Remedial course in addition to the 45-hour Broker course. Please visit the NY Department of State for more detailed information.
HGAR offers both in-person and online 45-hour Broker and 30-hour Remedial courses.
Click Here for HGAR School of Real Estate 45-hour Broker Course
Click Here for HGAR School of Real Estate 30-hour Remedial Course
(If no In-person classes are currently available, you will be directed to the Online Course.)
Florida Real Estate Associate Licensing Course
Since many of our members also wish to practice in Florida, HGAR offers an online course that provides you with the 63 hours of instruction required to be eligible for a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate license. The course prepares you for the Florida state licensing exam.